Our Love/Hate Relationship With Nature

???????????????????????????????Mary Helen champions the rights of squirrels. “Honey, just let them eat. They work so hard to get your bird seed.”

Unlike Mary Helen, I’m in constant conflict with our squirrels. Our aggressive squirrels, black and grey, repeatedly knock down the finch feeder, even though they’re not finches. Then there is the main feeder that I’d set up to feed our feathered friends: cardinals, nuthatches, rose-breasted grosbeaks, chickadees. The squirrels leapt from the deck the ten or twelve feet to the feeder where they proceeded to ???????????????????????????????empty it in spite of a circular squirrel baffle I’d installed so they couldn’t climb the pole. So I moved the pole three feet farther. No problem, the grey squirrels leapt the distance, knocking it to the ground and breaking the feeder.

This meant war. I went to the local hardware store and invested in a fancy squirrel proof feeder. True, the squirrels—so far—have not have not been able to get into the main storage area. But where I hung it from the eaves trough, they placidly clung to the wire grid and munched away. The store of seed quickly diminished. I decided to ???????????????????????????????go back to the drawing board.

So I designed what I thought was an ingenious way to keep the squirrels out of the seed: a pole with a round baffle to keep them from climbing and the feeder on a moveable arm so I could raise it high above the ground. After installation, I sat back and smiled at my ingenuity.

Lo and behold, within a few hours the grey squirrel found a way to leap onto the top of thiGrey squirrel on squirrel proof feeder?????????s new-fangled invention and munch away. How? I’ve no idea. Is it a magician?

And not satisfied to deplete the regular seed, both varieties of squirrels curl around the finch feeder and using their tiny tongues tease out the miniscule niger seed. I’ve obviously lost the war. Mary Helen tells me to give up and just admire their ingenuity and perseverance. “Doesn’t James say that the testing of your faith develops perseverance?” (James 1:3) Touche

What about chipmunks? Mary Helen loves them. “They’re so cute,” she says.???????????????????????????????

“But,” I reply, “They’re eating the coriander seed, the buds off flowers, and digging up the tulip bulbs. They also dig up peas and sunflower seeds as fast as I plant them. They even feast on half-ripe tomatoes!”

“But they’re so cute,” she repeats.

“True, they’re cute,” I admit. “But they do a lot more damage than garter snakes.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMary Helen’s attitude changes in an instant. “Snakes, I can’t stand snakes. You’ve got to kill them.”

“But they get rid of insects and other pests,” I reply. “And they’re harmless to us.”

“I don’t care. What if they come inside!”

Irrational, I think, but don’t say, as I admit defeat on all fronts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response to “Our Love/Hate Relationship With Nature

  1. Diane P Morin

    HAHAHAHAHA…Eric! I have the same problem! I will post a pic on your FB page. I have given up too although I have not yet tried “squirrel proof” feeders, now after reading this, I will not waste my money! I have a sweet wee chippy that has found my birdseed now too……Mary Helen is right, they are soooo cute, so I will let him stay!! 😀

Leave a Reply

